The 2019 winner of the CEFRACOR «Grand Medal » is Professor Gerald FRANKEL

#CEFRACOR's communications

The 2019 winner of the CEFRACOR «Grand Medal » is Professor Gerald Frankel, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA, and Director of the Fontana Corrosion Center.
" The Grand Medal is the highest award from CEFRACOR, the French Corrosion Society, awarded to a scientist in recognition to his/her outstanding work in corrosion science or engineering with a strong influence in the area of material durability.

Recognition of this honor and presentation of the medal to Pr Frankel will take place during EUROCORR 2019 in Sevilla, immediately before Jerry Frankel's  Keynote Lecture in the session on Mechanisms, Methods and Modeling, on Tuesday, September 10th, 2019 at 11:30 "

Gerald S. Frankel is Distinguished Professor of Engineering in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and Director of the Fontana Corrosion Center at the Ohio State University.  He earned the Sc.B. degree in Materials Science Engineering from Brown University and the Sc.D. degree in Materials Science and Engineering from MIT. Prior to joining OSU in 1995, he was a post-doctoral researcher at the Swiss Federal Technical Institute in Zurich and then a Research Staff Member at the IBM Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY. His primary research interests are in the passivation and localized corrosion of metals and alloys, corrosion inhibition, protective coatings and atmospheric corrosion. He is a member of the editorial board of The Journal of the Electrochemical Society and Corrosion and a fellow of NACE International, The Electrochemical Society, and ASM International.  He received the W.R. Whitney Award from NACE International in 2015, the U.R. Evans Award from the UK Institute of Corrosion in 2011, OSU Distinguished Scholar Award in 2010, the 2010 ECS Corrosion Division H.H. Uhlig Award, and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award for Senior US Scientists in 2004. From 2012-2016, he served as a member of the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board after being appointed by President Obama. In 2016, he became the director of a DOE-funded Engineering Frontier Research Center focused on the performance of nuclear waste forms.



Are you a member of the cefracor ?